KYNT Local Sports 8-12-17

A former Yankton Gazelles all-state athlete and the winningest coach in U-S-D men’s basketball history are among eight people who will be inducted this fall into the Coyote Sports Hall of Fame.  Heather Nelson Olson was a two-time selection for all-conference in women’s basketball at U-S-D where she ended her career in the top nine in school history in points, steals and blocked shots.  Olson was an all-state performer for the Yankton Gazelles in basketball, volleyball and track and is now the assistant principal at Yankton Middle School.  Dave Boots coached the Coyotes to 503 men’s basketball victories winning 68 percent of his games with 23 consecutive winning seasons.  Boots coached in 11 post-season tournaments at U-S-D and retired in 2013 with the 14th most victories in Division Two history.  The Coyote Sports Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place Saturday, October 13th before the U-S-D home football game with Indiana State.

Yankton High School started their competitive fall sports season with a split of soccer games against Sioux Falls Lincoln.  The Gazelles beat the Patriots 2-0 as senior Holly Hicks had ten saves in goal in the Yankton shutout victory.  Lincoln won the boys varsity game 1-0 over Yankton, as Trevor Rafferty had six saves as the Bucks goalie.  Yankton has a soccer doubleheader at Harrisburg on Tuesday.

Harrisburg eliminated Crofton 3-1 in the Class B state amateur baseball tourney quarter-finals last night in Mitchell.  Winning pitcher Dalton Allen retired the first 19 batters for the Bluejays before Nick Hegge tripled in the seventh inning.

The Vermillion Red Sox whipped the Sioux Falls Flying Squirrels 14-5 in the Class A state amateur tourney as led the winners with two home runs.  Vermillion takes on Aberdeen at 11 a-m at Cadwell Park in Mitchell.

A Sioux Falls Little League team has advanced to a regional championship game this morning.  Sioux Falls is the South Dakota representative and they will face Missouri representative Webb City at 10 a-m, and the winner will advance to the Little League World Series in Williamsport, Pennsylvania.